The Senate approved a short-term spending plan to keep the government open Thursday but not without nearly a third of the chamber dissenting for various reasons.

The funding bill, called a continuing resolution, keeps the government open through mid-January. The legislation needed at least 60 votes and passed by 66 votes, with 32 nays and two senators not voting. That’s double the 14 Democrats who dissented against the temporary spending bill two weeks ago.

Most of the nay votes were from Democrats who are desperate to deal with immigration issues. During a caucus meeting Thursday, Democratic Rep. Luis Gutiérrez of Illinois criticized Schumer for not caring about the future of Deferred Action For Childhood Arrivals (DACA), and for “throwing them under the bus,” the Washington Post reports.

Schumer, who voted no on the spending bill, issued an ultimatum to the GOP that his party would not vote for anything more than a short term bill until Congress addresses immigration and wider domestic spending issues. He also mentioned that the $81 billion emergency spending bill the House passed Thursday would not go forward until the Senate addressed other issues.

“We’re not going to allow things like disaster relief to go forward without discussing some of these other issues we care about,” Schumer said. “We have to solve these issues together.”

Two Republican Senators — Mike Lee of Utah and Rand Paul of Kentucky — joined the dissenting votes for the spending bill. The spending bill again waived rules that would have mandated steep cuts to Medicare and other entitlement programs, which Paul didn’t want to see happen.

“Do federal deficits matter?” Paul asked.

Here are all the “nay” votes:

Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Nay
Michael Bennet (D-CO), Nay
Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Nay
Cory Booker (D-NJ), Nay
Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Nay
Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Nay
Ben Cardin (D-MD), Nay
Bob Casey (D-PA), Nay
Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV), Nay
Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Nay
Dick Durbin (D-IL), Nay
Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Nay
Al Franken (D-MN), Nay
Kristen Gillibrand (D-NY), Nay
Kamala Harris (D-CA), Nay
Maise Hirono (D-HI), Nay
Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Nay
Mike Lee (R-UT), Nay
Ed Markey (D-MA), Nay
Bob Menendez (D-NJ), Nay
Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Nay
Chris Murphy (D-CT), Nay
Patty Murray (D-WA), Nay
Rand Paul (R-KY), Nay
Jack Reed (D-RI), Nay
Bernie Sanders (I-VT), Nay
Brian Schatz (D-HI), Nay
Chuck Schumer (D-NY), Nay
Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Nay
Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Nay
Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Nay
Ron Wyden (D-OR), Nay

Content created by The Daily Caller News Foundation is available without charge to any eligible news publisher that can provide a large audience. For licensing opportunities of our original content, please contact

Warning: mysqli_query(): (HY000/1030): Got error 28 from storage engine in /home/jgoodell/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1942

Warning: mysqli_query(): (HY000/1030): Got error 28 from storage engine in /home/jgoodell/public_html/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 1942